Members of the Vienna Philharmonic

View Artists

Denis Kozhukhin



Hugo Wolf

Italian Serenade for String Quartet in G major

Alban Berg

Four Pieces for Clarinet and Piano Op. 5

Alban Berg

Adagio from the Chamber Concerto (arranged for Violin, Clarinet, and Piano)

Franz Schubert

Octet in F Major D 803

Approximate running time: 2h 15m with one intermission

Taking inspiration from Beethoven’s famous Septet in E-flat major—performed this season by the Boston Symphony Chamber Players—Franz Schubert in 1824 created one of his most significant chamber music compositions: the Octet in F major for clarinet, bassoon, horn, two violins, viola, cello, and double bass. During the first half of the concert by featuring members of the Vienna Philharmonic and pianist Denis Kozhukhin, pieces by Hugo Wolf and Alban Berg precede Schubert’s magnificent work.