[...] MITSUKO UCHIDA - Pierre Boulez Saal


Mitsuko Uchida



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Piano Sonata in F major K. 533 / K. 494

Ludwig van Beethoven

Diabelli Variations in C major Op. 120

Approximate running time: 2h with one intermission

In 1819, the Viennese publisher and composer Anton Diabelli commissioned a number of prominent fellow artists to write a single variation on one of his own themes, for a collection he intended to publish. Beethoven took his time—and four years later completed his own 33-part variation cycle, his last major piano work. For her solo recital in the composer’s anniversary year, Mitsuko Uchida combines this pianistic testament with Mozart’s Piano Sonata K. 533/494.