Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider


Robert Kulek



Ludwig van Beethoven

Sonata for Violin and Piano in D major Op. 12/1

Johannes Brahms

Sonata for Violin and Piano in A major Op. 100

Dmitri Shostakovich

4 Preludes from "24 Preludes" op.34 (Arrangement for violin and piano)

Sergei Prokofiev

Sonata for Violin and Piano in D major Op. 94a

Approximate running time: 1h 30m with one intermission

The violin sonatas of Beethoven and Brahms form the core of the duo repertoire. Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider and Robert Kulek, who have been performing together for a number of years, make their joint debuts at the Pierre Boulez Saal with a program whose first half is dedicated to these two masters. The stylistic counterpoint is provided by Prokofiev’s Violin Sonata Op. 94a (adapted by the composer from his Flute Sonata for violinist David Oistrakh) and a selection of the 24 Preludes for piano solo by his younger compatriot Shostakovich, in a version for violin and piano.