Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider


Robert Kulek



Erich Wolfgang Korngold

Suite from Incidental Music to Shakespeare's "Much Ado About Nothing" Op. 11

Setting for Violin and Piano

Johannes Brahms

Sonata for Violin and Piano in G major Op. 78

Arnold Schoenberg

Phantasy for Violin with Piano Accompaniment Op. 47

Richard Strauss

Sonata for Violin and Piano in E-flat major Op. 18

Approximate running time: 1h 45m with one intermission

Following their successful debut at the Pierre Boulez Saal last season, Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider and Robert Kulek return with music for violin and piano from the late 19th and the first half of the 20th century. The large-scale sonatas of Brahms and Richard Strauss are paired with Korngold’s incidental music to Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing and Schoenberg’s late Phantasy, written in 1949.

Nikolaj Szeps-Znaider: Sibelius with the Berliner Philharmoniker

A 1741 Guarnerius “del Gesù”