Nils Mönkemeyer


William Youn

Piano, Fortepiano


Tre notturni brillianti No. 1

Di volo

Modulierendes Präludium K. deest (Anh. C 15.11)

Six Variations on "Hélas, j'ai perdu mon amant" K. 360

Tre notturni brillianti No. 2

Scorrevole e animato

Sonata in A-Minor for Viola and Piano D 821 "Arpeggione"

Vers la Vie Nouvelle (1918) for Solo Piano

Piano Etude No. 5 (Toccata)

In nomine

Übermalung für Viola sola

Sonata in E flat Major Op. 120/2 for Clarinet or Viola and Piano

Approximate running time: 1h 30m with one intermission

Classical repertoire and contemporary music make for an irresistible combination in this concert by frequent collaborators Nils Mönkemeyer and William Youn. This German-Korean viola-piano duo presents a rich program juxtaposing intimacy and experimentation, the familiar and the unknown. Interwoven with pieces by Mozart, Schubert, and Brahms are compositions by Salvatore Sciarrino, Nadia Boulanger, Unsuk Chin, and Matthias Pintscher.