Pinchas Zukerman


Yefim Bronfman



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Sonata in C Major for Violin and Piano K. 296

Franz Schubert

Violin Sonata A Major D 574 "Duo"

Ludwig van Beethoven

Violin Sonata in F Major op. 24 "Spring Sonata"

Approximate running time: 1h 30m without intermission

Distinguished and longtime musical partners Pinchas Zukerman and Yefim Bronfman explore the core of the chamber music repertoire in a program dedicated to the three defining composers of the Classical and early Romantic eras. A virtuoso violinist as well as pianist, Mozart wrote the first of his mature violin sonatas on the extended trip of 1777–78 that took him all the way from Salzburg to Paris. Just over two decades separate it from Beethoven’s Opus 24 (which owes its posthumous nickname, "Spring Sonata," to the gentle lyricism of the first movement’s opening theme). The two works frame the graceful A-major Sonata by the 20-year-old Schubert.