Radu Lupu



Robert Schumann

Kreisleriana / Eight Fantasy pieces for Piano op. 16

Franz Schubert

Sonata in B flat Major D 960

Approximate running time: 2h with one intermission

Radu Lupu, one of the great interpreters of the Romantic piano repertoire, returns to the Pierre Boulez Saal with a program that combines two iconic compositions of the early 19th century. Schumann’s Kreisleriana, his cycle of eight “Fantasies for the Pianoforte” inspired by the writings of E.T.A. Hoffmann, is followed by Schubert’s final sonata, the monumental B flat–minor work written a few weeks before the composer’s death.