Saleem Ashkar



Johannes Brahms

Two Rhapsodies for Piano Op. 79

Johannes Brahms

Three Intermezzi for Piano Op. 117

Arnold Schoenberg

Three Pieces for Piano Op. 11

Robert Schumann

Kreisleriana – Eight Fantasy Pieces for Piano Op. 16

Pierre Boulez

Douze Notations for Piano

Approximate running time: 1h 45m with one intermission

In March 2017, Saleem Ashkar performed one of the very first piano recitals at the Pierre Boulez Saal. Now the Israeli-Palestinian pianist returns with a program ranging from Schumann’s Kreisleriana to compositions by Brahms and Schoenberg, to the seminal Douze Notations by 20-year-old Pierre Boulez—vastly different works written over the course of only 100 years.