Sergey Malov

Violoncello da spalla


Johann Sebastian Bach

Six Suites for Solo Cello BWV 1007–1012

Approximate running time: 2h 45m with one intermission

Similar to the Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin, Johann Sebastian Bach wrote his six Cello Suites as pieces to be studied and used for instruction rather than for performance. His skills as a violinist far exceeded those on the cello, however, and he likely performed the Cello Suites on the smaller violoncello da spalla, which is played at the shoulder (Ital. spalla) like a violin or viola. Sergey Malov is one of the few musicians today to have mastered this almost forgotten instrument. His debut at the Pierre Boulez Saal offers a rare opportunity to experience these familiar works in a new light.