Sergey Malov

Violoncello da spalla


Johann Sebastian Bach

Six Suites for Solo Cello BWV 1007–1012

Approximate running time: 1h 15m without intermission

Like his Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin, Johann Sebastian Bach wrote the six Cello Suites as pieces for study and instruction rather than performance. His skills as a violinist, however, far exceeded those on the cello, and he likely played the Cello Suites on the smaller violoncello da spalla, which is held at the shoulder (Ital. “spalla”) like a violin or viola. Sergey Malov is among the few musicians today to have mastered this almost forgotten instrument. His debut at the Pierre Boulez Saal offers a rare opportunity to experience these familiar works in a new light.