Signum Quartett

View Artists


Joseph Haydn

String Quartet in D major Hob. III:34 Op. 20 No. 4

Matthijs van Dijk

(rage) rage against the for String Quartet

Priaulx Rainier

Quartet for Strings

Franz Schubert

String Quartet in D minor D 810 "Death and the Maiden"

Approximate running time: 1h 45m with one intermission

Classics of the quartet repertoire by Haydn and Schubert bookend the program of the Signum Quartett as part of this year's Quartet Week, which prominently features two South African works from the 20th and 21st centuries: her 1939 Quartet for Strings brought Priaulx Rainier—who later lived in London as a violinist and composer—her international breakthrough. Some 60 years later, Matthijs van Dijk was awarded the composition prize named after Rainier. The Signum Quartett premiered his (rage) rage against the in 2018.