Staatskapelle Berlin
Daniel Barenboim

Piano & Conductor


Franz Schubert

Symphony No. 5 in B-flat Major D 485

Franz Schubert

Symphony No. 4 in C Minor D 417 "Tragic"

Franz Schubert

Symphony No. 6 in C Major D 589 "Little C Major"

Approximate running time: 1h 45m without intermission

The Staatskapelle Berlin and its General Music Director Daniel Barenboim perform Schubert’s complete symphonies, commemorating the composer’s 220th birthday. Spanning a mere decade and a half from the efforts of the teenaged Schubert to the late masterpieces, these works, heard in the sequence of their creation, reveal the astonishing stylistic development of one of the greatest composers of the Romantic era. The symphony cycle is complemented by Barenboim’s solo traversal of Schubert’s piano sonatas.

Please note that due to the Kirchentag on May 25, some roads may be blocked around Pierre Boulez Saal.