Berlin Staatskapelle String Quartet


Franz Schubert

String Quartet in C Minor D 703 "Quartettsatz"

Franz Schubert

String Quartet D 18

Franz Schubert

String Quartet in B-flat Major D 112

Franz Schubert

String Quartet in D Minor D 810 "Death and the Maiden"

Approximate running time: 2h without intermission

Connecting the Schubert anniversary with the Pierre Boulez Saal’s inaugural Quartet Festival, the newly formed Streichquartett der Staatskapelle presents a preview of its complete Schubert quartet cycle, which will be heard next season. In this initial concert, two early quartets—including the very first, composed by a 13-year-old Schubert—are preceded by the famous C-minor fragment known as the Quartet Movement D 703. It’s a landmark score that foreshadows the mature style of the composer’s final years, which was to burst forth not long afterward in another fragment, the "Unfinished" Symphony. The great "Death and the Maiden" quartet, the composer’s penultimate work in the genre, concludes the program.

This concert is part of the Quartet Festival.