Berlin Staatskapelle String Quartet

View Artists


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

String Quartet in B-flat major K. 589

Giuseppe Verdi

String Quartet in E minor

Giacomo Puccini


Pjotr Tchaikovsky

String Quartet No. 1 in D major Op. 11

Approximate running time: 1h 45m with one intermission

Following their cyclical performances of works by Schubert and Brahms in previous years, the four principals of the Staatskapelle Berlin take on two rare excursions of Italian opera composers into the realm of chamber music: in this first of their two programs this season, Puccini’s melancholy Crisantemi and Verdi’s dramatic string quartet meet works by Mozart and Tchaikovsky.