Berlin Staatskapelle String Quartet

View Artists


Leoš Janácek

String Quartet No. 1 "Kreutzer Sonata"

Leoš Janácek

String Quartet No. 2 "Intimate Letters"

Recitation from letters between Leoš Janáček and Kamila Stösslová - In German

Approximate running time: 1h 30m with one intermission

In the summer of 1917, Leoš Janáček met Kamila Stösslová, a young woman almost 40 years his junior. His passionate love for her remained platonic, but it inspired several works written over the following years—most notably the Second String Quartet of 1928, in which Janáček told the story of this relationship, entirely without words. The Streichquartett der Staatskapelle Berlin performs his musical declaration of love, together with the composer’s First String Quartet, written in 1923. Actors will read from Kamila and Janáček’s numerous “intimate letters.”