Berlin Staatskapelle String Quartet

View Artists

Elisabeth Leonskaja



Johannes Brahms

Piano Quartet No. 2 in A Major op. 26

Johannes Brahms

Piano Quartet No. 1 in G Minor op. 25

Approximate running time: 1h 30m with one intermission

Since first performing together as a quartet approximately ten years ago, the four principal string players of the Staatskapelle Berlin have made a name for themselves as a permanent ensemble. Following their acclaimed Schubert cycle in 2017–18, they now embark on a four-part survey of the works of Johannes Brahms. For the first pair of concerts in January, the four musicians are joined by Elisabeth Leonskaja in performances of the composer’s piano quartets (with alternating violinists) and his quintet. In April, they take on the three string quartets, in a inspired juxtaposition with works by Mozart and members of the Second  Viennese School.