Vilde Frang


Michail Lifits



Johannes Brahms

Sonata in G Major for Violin and Piano op. 78

Franz Schubert

Fantasia in C Major for Violin and Piano D 934

Béla Bartók

Sonata No. 1 for Violin and Piano Sz 75

Approximate running time: 2h with one intermission

Among the many outstanding violinists of her generation, Norwegian Vilde Frang is known for her often very personal look at seemingly familiar repertoire. At the Pierre Boulez Saal, she and German-Uzbek pianist Michail Lifits perform Romantic works by Brahms and Schubert, as well as the First Violin Sonata by Béla Bartók, which—like many of the composer’s works—combines influences of Hungarian and Romanian folk music with advanced rhythmical and harmonic elements.