Yefim Bronfman



Béla Bartók

Suite for Piano Op. 14 Sz 62

Galina Ustvolskaya

Piano Sonata No. 4

Robert Schumann

Faschingsschwank aus Wien / Five Fantasy Pictures for Piano op. 26

Franz Schubert

Sonata in C minor D 958

Approximate running time: 2h with one intermission

Schubert’s last three sonatas are among the pinnacles not only of the composer’s works but of the entire Romantic piano repertoire of the early 19th century. The C-minor work D 958, often understood as an homage to Beethoven, makes for a weighty finale to Yefim Bronfman’s recital. Also on the program are Schumann’s Faschingsschwank aus Wien (“Carnival Scenes from Vienna”), written during a stay in the Austrian capital in the spring of 1839, and Bartók’s 1916 Suite for Piano.