Yulianna Avdeeva



Frédéric Chopin

Polonaise-Fantaisie in A-flat major Op. 61

Władysław Szpilman

The Life of the Machines

Suite for Piano

Mieczysław Weinberg

Piano Sonata No. 4 in B minor Op. 56

Sergei Prokofiev

Piano Sonata No. 8 in B-flat major Op. 84

Approximate running time: 1h 15m without intermission

In her solo recital, Yulianna Avdeeva presents three works by Polish and Russian composers that are inextricably linked to the political circumstances of their time: Władysław Szpilman’s suite The Life of the Machines, composed in Berlin shortly before the Nazis came to power; the third and final of Prokofiev’s deeply emotional “Wartime Sonatas”; and Mieczysław Weinberg’s Fourth Piano Sonata, written after Stalin’s death and the composer’s own imprisonment. The program opens with the Polonaise-Fantaisie by Polish-born Parisian Frédéric Chopin.